A day in the life

Insipired by one of my favorite childhood cousins new wife, I’ve decided to start my first blog ever…. unless you consider “Myspace’s” blog a real blog. Do people still use that site? I deleted my Myspace profile many years ago when Facebook completely took over the social media world. Now, I think that Myspace is mostly for “tweeny” girls and people who love spam. BUT, one of the few things Facebook lacks is a blog function… and so, thanks to hooleywithaz (who has, in my opinion, a pretty entertaining and down to earth blog) I find myself here today.

Recently married (in August of 2012), you’d think my life would have changed considerably over the past two months. It has not, and for that I am greatful. My husband and I lived together for three and a half years prior to saying, “I do.” I continually get asked by family, friends, and co-workers, “how’s married life.” And my response is always, “the same as it was before.” It’s not a bad thing. I like things the way they are. If it had changed dramatically, I’d probably be disappointed. Being that we lived together for an extended period of time, we had that part figured out long before exchanging rings and shoving cake in each other’s faces.

Image

I suspect the majority of my posts will involve food, cats (we love our meow-meows!),

Imageand the occasional rant about something that makes me angry.

Our days are pretty typical. I work as a department manager for an industry leading retailer, my husband slaves away at an advertising agency in Minneapolis. We have dinner together most evenings, and I’m usually the cook. It’s not that Neil can’t cook, but I enjoy it more than he does, and unless he has a recipe with step-by-step instructions or the meal involves his beloved grill, he knows better than to get involved.

He’s much more adventurous than I. An advertising man by day, and a local musician by night. His band has done quite well over the decade+ they’ve been together, and it allows me to have a couple nights a week to myself. Not that I don’t like spending time with him, but every girl enjoys her alone time. On the flip side, he occasionally goes out of town to play shows, and this results in me spending the night home alone. I don’t like being in the house all night, all by myself, and usually don’t sleep well.

We both have a love of food, good wine, and playing games that are good for two people. We seem to cycle through scrabble, cribbage, boggle and sequence. If you have suggestions for other good two-person games, please say so! It’s not always easy to find ones that aren’t lame. Most of those I listed above are pretty classic.

I’m still in the process of changing my name. Got my new social security card, but that’s about it. This part of getting hitched is such a PITA, isn’t it?

I think I’ll cut this off before it gets too long and all over the place. I need a trip to the grocery store to cook up something delicious for supper on this chilly fall day!

 

Comment

